Washington: Environmental Justice Community Participation Fund Grant

The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) is excited to announce the formation of an Environmental Justice Community Participation Fund Grant program.

Donor Name: Washington State Department of Health

State: Washington

Counties: Selected  Counties

Type of Grant: Grant

Deadline: 12/02/2022

Size of the Grant: $400,000

Grant Duration: 1 year 8 months


The aim of this program is to award a $400,000 pass-through grant to a statewide community-based environmental justice organization for the creation of an Environmental Justice Community Participation Fund. This Fund will be used to allocate smaller sub-grants to other community-based organizations around Washington State to support meaningful participation and engagement with the Environmental Justice Council and state agencies around the Healthy Environment for All (HEAL) Act.

Funding Information

Estimated Funding Range: Maximum amount $400,000 per award

Grant Duration

Expected Period of Performance: February 1st, 2023 – September 1st, 2024


  • The grantee must be a statewide, community-based environmental justice organization.

In addition, the ideal grantee will meet the following qualifications:

  • Administrative and fiscal capacity to set up and manage $400,000 in pass-through funding.
  • Capacity to develop and implement a plan for equitably soliciting applications from, selecting, and allocating funding to subgrantee organizations.
  • Demonstrated ability to work equitably with communities and populations across the state, in particular, those most impacted by environmental injustice.
  • Demonstrated ability to collaborate and partner with external organizations with accountability and transparency.

Statewide: For the purposes of this grant, “statewide” means an organization has demonstrated partnerships, relationships with communities, experience, and/or past projects or work done in three or more regions of Washington state (see Figure 1). Examples of working statewide include contributing to the development of statewide policy, as well as providing services, funding, or resources and collaborating with partners in multiple regions across Washington state.

  • Region 1: Clallam, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Grays Harbor, Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, and Skamania counties
  • Region 2: Whatcom, San Juan, Island, Skagit, Snohomish, King, Pierce, Thurston, and Lewis counties
  • Region 3: Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, Lincoln, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, and Spokane counties
  • Region 4: Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Grant, Adams, Franklin, Walla Walla, Columbia, Whitman, Garfield, Asotin, and Klickitat counties

For more information, visit Environmental Justice Community Participation Fund Grant.