Home » Peace and Solidarity » State Homeland Security Program Grant (SHSP) for Texas

State Homeland Security Program Grant (SHSP) for Texas


The SHSP grants is seeking applications to provide funding to address high-priority preparedness gaps across all FEMA core capabilities and mission areas that support terrorism preparedness.

Donor Name: Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG)

State: Texas

Counties: Bastrop County (TX), Blanco County (TX),  Burnet County (TX), Caldwell County (TX), Fayette County (TX), Hays County (TX), Lee County (TX), Llano County (TX), Travis County (TX), Williamson County (TX)

Type of Grant: Grant

Deadline (mm/dd/yyyy): 01/31/2022


The SHSP is a core assistance program that provides funds to build and/or maintain capabilities at the state- and regional- levels. It is used to implement the goals and objectives included in State Homeland Security Strategic Plan,
initiatives derived from gap identification in the CAPCOG Stakeholder Preparedness Review (SPR), and target capabilities in the CAPCOG Regional Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA).

Activities implemented under the SHSP must support efforts to build, sustain, and deliver the capabilities necessary to prevent, prepare for, protect against, and respond to acts of terrorism. However, many capabilities that support
terrorism preparedness simultaneously support preparedness for other hazards. Grantees may demonstrate this dual-use to qualify for any activities implemented under this program that are not solely focused on terrorism preparedness.

Within CAPCOG, specific use of funds should result in regional benefits to the ten counties in preventing or responding to terrorist activities. Many capabilities that support terrorism preparedness simultaneously support preparedness for other hazards and the resources obtained with awarded funds may be dual-purposed to address any hazard or risk.

Eligibility Criteria

  • According to current State of guidelines, potential sub-recipients for SHSP grant funds include state agencies, regional councils of governments, units of local government, nonprofit organizations, universities or colleges, and Native American tribes.
  • Eligible applicants may submit projects that are consistent with the applicable state or regional Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA) as well as the CAPCOG Stakeholder Preparedness Review (SPR). Applicants must also meet the following eligibility requirements:
    • Grantees are required to maintain adoption and implementation of the National Incident Management System (NIMS).
    • Grantees must use standardized resource management concepts for resource typing, credentialing, and an inventory to facilitate the effective identification, dispatch, deployment, tracking and recovery of resources.
    • Cities and counties must have a current emergency management plan or be a legally established member of an inter-jurisdictional emergency management program with a plan on file with the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM). Plans must be maintained throughout the entire grant performance period and must be at least at the Intermediate Level. If you have questions concerning your emergency management plan preparedness level, contact your city or county emergency management coordinator (EMC) or the Homeland Security Division of the CAPCOG.
    • In order for an applicant to be eligible, the county (or counties) in which the applicant is located must have a 90 percent average on both adult and juvenile criminal history dispositions reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety for calendar years 2016 through 2022. This requirement must be met by August 1, 2022.
    • Eligible applicants operating a law enforcement agency must be current on reporting Part I violent crime data to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) for inclusion in the annual Uniform Crime Report (UCR). To be considered eligible for funding, applicants must have submitted a full twelve months of accurate data to DPS for the most recent calendar year.
    • Eligible applicants must have a Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number assigned to its agency. To request a DUNS number.
    • Eligible applicants must be registered in the federal System for Award Management (SAM) database and maintain an active registration throughout the grant period.
    • Eligible applicants must be National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS)-compliant.
    • Eligible applicants must attend the grant workshop outlining CAPCOG grant requirements.
    • Eligible new applicants must attend eGrants training provided by the Office of the Governor.
    • Eligible applicants MUST have a physical location within the 10-county CAPCOG region and participate in regional programs.
    • Eligible applicants must demonstrate the capacity to support and maintain their project’s ability to act in a regional capacity. Regional capacity includes deployment, supplying, and staffing for the first operational period within the CAPCOG region and to participate in annual CAPCOG exercises.

For more information, visit State Homeland Security Program Grant.

Looking for Grants? Become a Member to search and filter grant information and receive latest grant alerts in your email inbox. Learn more.