Harry A. Logan Fire Service Scholarship – Indiana

The Posey County Community Foundation has announced Harry A. Logan Fire Service Scholarship to encourage individuals to carry on Harry’s dedication to fire service and community service.

Donor Name: Posey County Community Foundation

State: Indiana

County: Posey County (IN), Vanderburgh County (IN), Warrick County (IN), Gibson County (IN)

Type of Grant: Scholarship

Deadline (mm/dd/yyyy): 02/27/2022

Size of the Grant: $1,000


Annual scholarship created by Elaine Logan, Lori Logan-Craig, and Andy and Lori Foster-Logan in memory of Harry A. Logan. Harry was a retired and lifetime member of the Marrs Township Fire Department. He spent 40 years with the fire department and logged over 4,222 runs. During his time on the fire department, he served as fireman, district chief, assistant chief, and fire chief for 8 Years. He had countless hours in training and public service to the people of Marrs and Robinson townships and the surrounding area.

Funding Information


Supplemental Requirements

  • Essay (not to exceed two typewritten, double-spaced pages) describing applicant’s desire to pursue a career in service work.
  • Letter of recommendation from a fire chief, firefighter, or member of the community where applicant has performed community service.
  • Completion of the “FAFSA” or “FAFSA4caster.”
  • Official grade transcript.

Eligibility Criteria

Graduating seniors in the District 15 area (Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Gibson counties) with a minimum 2.75 cumulative grade point average (4.0 scale) planning to pursue post-secondary education at any accredited college, university, or technical/vocational school majoring in Fire Services or related majors.

For more information, visit Harry A. Logan Fire Service Scholarship.