Apply Now for 2022 Individual Artist Awards – Alaska

Rasmuson Foundation is seeking applications for its Individual Artist Awards to provide artists living and working in Alaska the resources to concentrate and reflect on their work, to immerse themselves in a creative endeavor, and to experiment, explore and develop their artistry more fully.

Donor Name: Rasmuson Foundation

State: Alaska

County: All Counties

Type of Grant:

Deadline (mm/dd/yyyy): 02/14/2022

Details: $18,000


Rasmuson Foundation honors the merit and significance of a life dedicated to serious artistic exploration and growth. The Foundation believes that no matter what their career stage, an artist’s energy, ideas and creative drive needs time devoted to experimentation, education and reflection. With these guiding principles in mind, Rasmuson Foundation offers two award types for artists and artist groups or collaboratives living and working in Alaska:

  • Project Award:
    • Awards of $7,500 for specific, short-term projects that have a clear benefit to an individual or group’s artistic
      growth and development.
  • Artists Fellowship:
    • Awards of $18,000 for an individual or group at mid-career or mature artistic career stages to focus their
      energy and attention for a one-year period on developing their creative work.
  • Groups or Collaboratives :
    • Artistic collaboratives and groups are eligible to apply for either the Project Award or Fellowship award type. Applying as a group allows two or more individuals to apply within one application. Collaborative proposals may include ongoing group or collectives, or time-limited collaborations. An application must list a project director and the project lead/s. Project directors and project leads share ownership of the collaboration and are each designated as a “collaborator.” The individual who is designated the project director would accept the grant award and fiduciary responsibility, if awarded. It is imperative that all collaborators be listed on the application. Other members at large or participants providing services or support to the proposed project are not considered collaborators.

2022 Fellowships

Applicant Eligibility

Artists may apply if they meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • The applicant, including all group collaborators, must be full-time Alaska residents, for the past two years (and living in the state at the time of application) and remain a resident for the duration of the grant period.
  • If the applicant was out of the state for more than 180 days in 2021, they must provide an explanation of why.
  • If the applicant plans to be out of the state for more than 180 days in 2022, they must provide an explanation of why.
  • The applicant, including all group collaborators, must be at least 18 years or older at the time of application.
  • Applicants must currently be producing work.
  • Past Individual Artist Award recipients who received their award prior to 2019, and who have no overdue reports.

For more information, visit Individual Artist Awards.